Dreams, Poetry

Caged

I sat in a cage;

When they came

and read to me

stories

of those

who wandered

beyond

these four edges;

Men who

reached for the stars

could fly high in the sky

and cross mountains of all heights;

So I lusted

for an adventure

out of these walls

day in

and out

I fought the bars

that held me in;

Believing that one day

I too

can be like those men

that they read

doing almost

unthinkable things;

Tears

and sweat

I shed

till one day

I see them

came back;

 with a silver key

hanging in one of

their pockets;

They sat

and read

the stories

of those

who conquered the beyond

not once touching the keys

dangling on;

Go out there and

you too can achieve wondrous things

they smiled

then left;

And I sat

baffled and disheartened

wondering what

should I do next.

(If it helps you to understand better, “They” refers to society.)

Standard

Leave a Reply

